The City That Never Sleeps

DSC_5288

Hello there! As you might have figured out already, I’ve taken a break from blogging for a few months because of my exams. But everything’s over now and it ended up really well, thank God! So here I am again, putting my thoughts into words.

I was recently thinking to write a post about my trip to America, and what better day to remember it than the 4th of July?

DSC_5290Eveytime I think of my trip to America, that took place 5 years ago, something strange happens. I get a feeling like an explosion. My memories take me to a place between reality and dream, a place where everything is possible. An ideal world where everyone is accepted for who they are. A need to cry and to laugh all at once.

DSC_5336

DSC_5338

America. I don’t know what it is about it that makes me wanna cry of happiness, scream of excitement and to smile without a reason.

Maybe it’s the fact that it was my first flight over seas or maybe it’s the streets full of lights and energy, that I only thought would exist in movies. Maybe it’s the stuff that I bought like cool sneakers, superman t-shirts, Hershey’s, Dunkin Donuts and the new tastes of Starbucks drinks which weren’t available in Romania 5 years ago or was it the sights that we had the opportunity to see: Gugenheim, Museum of Natural History, the Statue of Liberty, Metropolitan Museum of Art (and drinking a coffee on the stairs, bc who’s not a gg fan?), but also Wallstreet, Broadway, Rockefeller Center and Times Square. Iconic, right? What is so amazing about is that I had the opportinity to see that it actually is the city that never sleeps.

DSC_5340DSC_5341DSC_5342DSC_5345DSC_5346DSC_5347DSC_5354DSC_5360

I was pleasantly surprised to see a multicultural community that actually lives together. This is what I was most excited about. Pleople accepting each other. People respecting each other. People helping each other. I was still too young to realise that things might have a twist, but in that moment I was feeling at peace with everything around me. In a sea of people, where no one knew who I was, which nationality I am or what my sexual orientations are, I was finally feeling accepted. I was feeling like I can be myself. I was feeling home. Maybe that’s why I left a piece of my soul in America.

DSC_5280

DSC_5323

I couldn’t help but realise the difference between the East coast and the West coast. Oh, I must say that although I loved New York, I could only feel like a tourist in that city because it’s way too busy for my liking. But on the other side, California is my dreamplace. I was even thinking of continuing my school there, that’s how in love I was with Laguna Beach and the vibes around the coast, oh my God!
I know what it is. It’s the silence and intimacy that surrounds you. No one cares about what you do and you can literally act like no one is watching, because everyone is doing their thing. It’s a peaceful silence. It’s a timeout from everything.
But the fun fact is that if you actually want to connect, Rodeo Drive, Hollywood or a theme park such as Six Flags are only a couple of hours drive apart.

DSC_5277DSC_5282DSC_5279DSC_5312DSC_5316DSC_5318DSC_5309

 

 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Beautiful photographs! I love your style and I have a similar pair of eye wear too šŸ™‚ Also, loved reading about your travel experiences!
    Thanks for sharing. Do drop by my blog as well : http://styleovercoffee.com šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

